Disponible uniquement sur Etudier
  • Pages : 2 (254 mots )
  • Téléchargement(s) : 0
  • Publié le : 11 octobre 2010
Lire le document complet
Aperçu du document
The United Kingdom’s Politic
The Westminster's Palace, in the heart of London, headquarters of the British legislative power.-------------------------------------------------
The power of the British monarch (currently Queen Elizabeth II) is entirely ceremonial: this one reign but not govern. The executive power of this parliamentary monarchy is exercised in thename of the Queen, by the Prime Minister (David Cameron), and the other ministers. The Prime Minister is appointed by the queen, he is not elected. The government can be changed depending on the ideasof the elected prime minister. Like any parliamentary system, ministers are accountable of the Parliament.
The constitution consists of alllaws, like for example, the "common law": a British constitutional law established since William the Conqueror (1066).
The British government isgenerally composed of seventeen to twenty-three Ministers (currently twenty-two). They make with the Prime Minister, the ministerial office, which gathers a hundred of people: ministers, statesecretaries, under secretaries of state and private parliamentary secretaries.
There is in Great-Britain, the ministerial solidarity: when the PrimeMinister wants to change an Act of the Parliament, his Ministers pledge with him.
External Relations-------------------------------------------------
The United Kingdom is a member of NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization), the European Union, the Commonwealth of Nations and the G8. And it is also a permanent member of the UN Security....