English school system

Pages: 13 (3209 mots) Publié le: 31 décembre 2010
Education in England may differ from the system used elsewhere in the United Kingdom .
Basically, there are two systems: one covering England, Wales and Northern Ireland and one covering Scotland. The two education systems have different emphases. Traditionally the English, Welsh and Northern Irish system has emphasised depth of education whereas the Scottish system has emphasisedbreadth. Thus English, Welsh and Northern Irish students tend to sit a small number of more advanced examinations and Scottish students tend to sit a larger number of less advanced examinations. It should be noted that local English practice can vary from this general picture although Scottish practice is well nigh universal.
Education in Wales
Nowadays education in Wales differs slightly fromthe system used in England. The statutory national key stage tests in Wales were, until 2000, the same as in England and were managed by the School Curriculum and Assessment Authority (SCAA). In 2000, the National Assembly for Wales took responsibility for these tests in Wales, at which point they were developed by test agencies on behalf of the Awdurdod Cymwysterau, Cwricwlwm ac Asesu Cymru(ACCAC), whilst the tests in England were developed for the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). In 2002, the Welsh Assembly decided to cease the tests at Key Stage One. Instead, optional teacher assessment materials were provided to schools in 2003 for use in English, mathematics and Welsh . These had been adapted from materials that had originally been developed by the National Foundationfor Educational Research (NFER) and the other test agencies to be used as statutory assessment materials for 2003. At the end of 2003, the Daugherty Report was commissioned by the Welsh Assembly to undertake a review of the country's assessment procedures. The interim report by the committee was perceived by the media as supporting a complete abolishment of the assessments at key stages two andthree.
The school years in England and Wales
In general, the cut-off point for ages is the end of August, so all children must be of a particular age on the 1st of September in order to begin class that month.
• Primary Education
o Infant School or Primary School
▪ Reception,age 4 to 5
▪ Year 1, age 5 to 6
▪ Year 2, age 6 to 7 (KS1 National Curriculum Tests - England only)
o Junior School or Primary School
▪ Year 3, age 7 to 8
▪ Year 4, age 8 to 9▪ Year 5, age 9 to 10
▪ Year 6, age 10 to 11 (Eleven plus exams in some areas of England, Key Stage 2 National Curriculum Tests)
• Secondary Education
o Middle School, High School or Secondary School▪ Year 7, old First Form, age 11 to 12
▪ Year 8, old Second Form, age 12 to 13
▪ Year 9, old Third Form, age 13 to 14 (Key Stage 3 National Curriculum Tests, known as SATs (Standard Assessment Tests))
o Upper School or Secondary School▪ Year 10, old Fourth Form, age 14 to 15
▪ Year 11, old Fifth Form, age 15 to 16 (old O Level examinations, modern GCSE examinations)
o Upper School, Secondary School, or Sixth Form College
▪ Year 12 or Lower Sixth, age 16 to 17 (AS-level...
Lire le document complet

Veuillez vous inscrire pour avoir accès au document.

Vous pouvez également trouver ces documents utiles

  • English
  • Background to the english legal system
  • school
  • school
  • school
  • School
  • school

Devenez membre d'Etudier

c'est gratuit !